Welcome to the homepage of the Mainz research centre for “Ethics in Antiquity and Christianity” (eac_logo_klein)!

The centre for Ethics in Antiquity and Christianity was established in 2009 and provides a forum for scholars in the disciplines of Old Testament, New Testament, Church History/Patristics, and Systematic Theology/Ethics to engage in a focused exchange of ideas with researchers in other areas of antiquity (Jewish Studies, Classics, ancient Near Eastern studies, ancient philosophy, and ancient history) as well as in contemporary ethics and moral philosophy.

The goal of the centre is to establish an interdisciplinary approach to the study of the grounds of and justification for ethics in antiquity (especially in early Christianity) with a view towards its relevance for contemporary ethical discourse and practical application (e.g., ethics and sports, bioethics).

In this approach, a particular emphasis of the centre is found in the consideration of non-rational, literary forms of ethical reflection as found, for instance, in narratival or metaphorical ethics along with the present focus upon the study of the connection between ethics and time.

For further information concerning the centre or the possibility of pursuing doctoral studies or participating in a post-doctoral project, please contact us.

Herzlich willkommen auf der Homepage des Mainzer Forschungszentrums für
„Ethik in Antike und Christentum“ (eac_logo_klein)!

Das im Jahr 2009 gegründete Zentrum vereint Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus den Disziplinen Altes Testament, Neues Testament, Alte Kirchengeschichte und Systematische Theologie/Ethik und ist im intensiven Austausch mit Forscherinnen und Forschern weiterer Altertumswissenschaften (Judaistik, Altphilologie, Altorientalistik, Philosophie und Geschichte der Antike) sowie gegenwärtiger Ethik bzw. Moralphilosophie.

Ziel ist die Etablierung eines interdisziplinären Ansatzes zur Erforschung der Begründungszusammenhänge der Ethik in der Antike (besonders des frühen Christentums) mit Relevanz für den gegenwärtigen Ethik-Diskurs bis hinein in aktuelle Handlungsfelder der praktischen Ethik (z.B. Ethik und Sport, Bioethik).

Ein Schwerpunkt des Zentrums liegt hierbei in der Erforschung nicht-rationaler, literaturgebundener Ethik-Reflexion wie z.B. der narrativen oder metaphorischen Ethik sowie derzeit auf der Erforschung des Zusammenhangs von Ethik und Zeit.


Bitte kontaktieren Sie eines der Mitglieder für weitere Informationen oder bei Interesse an einem Promotionsstudium oder an der Beteiligung an einem PostdoktorandInnenprojekt.